Global Warming/Climate Change Equals More Bugs

Listening to public radio is so interesting. I’m always learning something new. We used to listen to NPR on the way to school every morning growing up so now I think of it as news masquerading as story time. I don’t know how many times a day I start a story with, “I was listening to the radio and I heard…”

Well, let me tell you a story about a story I heard. If you’ve been following along, you know I hate bugs. According to the “Plant Doctor” Melinda Myers, who was on Charlotte Talks recently, our unnaturally warm winter is going to result in more bugs bothering us than normal. Stupid global warming/climate change!

I didn’t hear the whole conversation so I don’t know exactly why there would be more bugs than usual, but I’m assuming they just have more time to wake up and multiply. Having never gardened before, I don’t know what’s normal for populations of bugs, but when she advised us to “grab the bugs early before they multiply into the hundreds,” I have to admit I got more than just a little freaked out. By the way, she really meant “grab” the bugs. Like, with your hands.

An example of my psychological problem with bugs: just a minute ago, I moved my foot and some fuzz from my slippers ended up on my lap. I almost jumped out of my skin thinking it was a bug! A fuzzy red bug, spawned from my shedding slippers. I need an intervention.

With “hundreds” of bugs to deal with this summer (Sacre Bleu! Invaders!) a question remains: will I be able to conquer my fear and save my darling plants?

Who will save me?

2 thoughts on “Global Warming/Climate Change Equals More Bugs

  1. You have me cracking up!! I know how you feel though…I also am not a fan of bugs. Since living in the south we have encountered more bugs…right now I swear we are having a house invasion of stink bugs! I have old yogurt containers all over the house with rubbing alcohol in them…just so I can kill them!! The ticks have also been absolutely driving us insane and it is not even prime season for bugs!! Ahhhh!!! Good luck!! 🙂

    • Oh gross! I’m so afraid I am going to let my plants die if they get attacked by bugs. Then there are the inevitable “palmetto bugs” that I am sure will invade our house this summer. Ugh!! Welcome to the South! 🙂

Leave a comment